Explore Fermanagh Lakes
“Relish the scenic drive via Aghinver to Castle Archdale Country Park where there are remains of a plantation castle”
Bellanaleck. Stop at the award winning Sheelin Lace Museum to view exhibits of Irish Crochet wedding dress, veils, shawls, parasols, and collars. All lace exhibits date from between 1850 and 1900. The church at Bellanaleck is a small Gothic-revival Church of tower and hall plan built about 1763.
Knockninny/Derrylin. Crowned by ruined cairns, offers a superb view over Upper Lough Erne and the surrounding countryside. The 17C Manor House at Knockninny has Maguire associations.
Kinawley. Taking the B108 towards Florencecourt. The Medieval Church of St Naile and Holywell (Tobar Naile) – the Holywell has recently been attributed with the ability to cure warts.
Florencecourt. Owned by the National Trust this is an 18C stately Georgian house, once house of the earls of Enniskillen. It is three storey and is joined by long arcades to small pavilions and is renowned for splendid Rococo plaster work. Beautiful gardens attract many visitors each year.
Stop for lunch – Belcoo
Marble Arch Caves. Tours underground last just over one hour. A fascinating underground world of stalagmites and stalactites.
Marlbank Scenic Loop. View points include Gortalughany and Marlbank.
The Cladagh Glen. The Glen takes its name from the Claddagh River which forms in the cool depths of the Marble Arch Caves and carved its way through the limestone rock of the Marlbank leaving a deep scar in which remnants of Ireland’s ancient woodland nestle. About half way up the glen you come to the Cascades. Water from an underground cave pours over a natural ‘staircase’ rock formation into the Cladagh.
Return to Enniskillen for overnight in Hotel
Castle Hume Golf Course (A46) Stop for a round of golf.
Ely Lodge. (A46) Stop for a walk along the shore of Lower Lough Erne where the frequency of forest roads and footpaths offers various choices of walk in this area.
Carrickreagh Viewpoint. (A46) The gradient up the forest road is generally moderate and concludes at a viewing platform where you can see over a large area of Lower Lough Erne.
Tully Castle.(A46) A 17C Plantation Castle overlooking the lake. Sir John Hume died in 1639 and was succeeded by his son, Sir George. During the 1641 uprising Rory Maguire arrived with a large following, swearing vengeance on the planters and their family. Lady Hume surrendered and only the Humes themselves were spared. The Castle was burnt and the Humes never went back.
Lunch in Belleek
Belleek Pottery Famous for its Parian China. Guided tours, Video presentations and coffee shop on site.
Castle Caldwell The ‘Fiddler’s Stone’, at the edge of the road, is to commemorate the drowning in 1770 of local fiddler Denis McCabe. A bird sanctuary and forest trails make this an enjoyable stop off point.
Scenic Loop (Kesh) Take a detour in the village of Kesh to the right opposite the Lough Erne Hotel and follow the scenic drive via Aghinver to Castle Archdale Country Park where there are remains of a plantation castle. Also a manor house and courtyard dating back to 1773 housing the RAF during the Second World War and nowadays housing a Countryside Centre and Museum, Caravan & Camping Facilities and Marina is on site.
Devenish Island at Trory Point take the ferry to the most extensive medieval Christian settlement in Ireland. A 12C round tower, high cross and priory the main points of interest.
Return to Enniskillen for overnight stay.
Caldragh Cemetery (Boa Island) The island is joined to the mainland by two bridges. The Janus figures date from 300BC- 500AD. The two faced Celtic Idol is found crouching in an ominous manner in the overgrown Caldragh Cemtery.